Danish Royal Visit to Italy


6 - 8 November 2018

About Denmark


Denmark is the southernmost of the Nordic countries and is located southwest of Sweden and south of Norway. Besides vast kilometres of coastline, the country’s only border on land is to Germany in the south of the peninsula of Jutland. Together with Norway and Sweden, Denmark is a part of Scandinavia.

The Kingdom of Denmark is a sovereign state, which comprises Denmark and two autonomous constituent countries in the North Atlantic Ocean: the Faroe Islands and Greenland. Denmark has an area of 42,934 square kilometres and a population of 5,781,190 citizens. The country consists of a peninsula, Jutland, and an archipelago of 443 named islands, of which around 70 are inhabited. The islands are characterised by flat, arable land and sandy coasts, low elevation and a temperate climate.

For more information on Denmark, please visit www.denmark.dk